Restaurant Review in Dubai: Crumble

Good morning early birds!

Yesterday morning, I discovered another new breakfast spot in town that will certainly make it in my top 10 (yes I am still on a mission!). The venue is called Crumble – well situated in 48 Burj Gate, adjacent to the Sofitel Hotel Dubai Downtown, Downtown Dubai. The restaurant is easily accessible, bonus point for that.

Growing up from a family of architects, the first impression of the restaurant is very important. Crumble has a contemporary, simple design with an all-exposed approach. The venue feels airy yet still cosy with a smart arrangement and utilisation of space.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
The industrial design and glass-fronted venue
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
The cosy bar counter

From a hospitality background, myself and Katy are very particular about staff attitude and promptness. We are impressed by the initiative to recommend the best selling dishes and the adequate amount of time to serve the food.

As we wanted to preserve a healthy morning, I had the Skillet Baked Egg while Katy chose the Scrambled Eggs in goat cheese, onions and herbs. In fact, the menu itself is very health-focused with a clever combination of simple, familiar ingredients. They even have the detox option which I find very suitable for the lifestyle of us, millennials.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
The nicely presented Scrambled Eggs
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Close up of Katy’s dish

Katy was very pleased with her dish that it has combined all the flavours that she expected, the crispiness of the herbs, the slightly sour taste of the cherry tomatoes and mild scrambled eggs.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
My Skilled Baked Egg

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

They say you first eat with your eyes. This has never proven wrong, at least in my case. The nicely presented dish in a pan, on a chopping board never ceases to impress me. I like the balance of the sunny side up and the spinach underneath – a very earthy taste. I also ordered a lemon mint juice. Can I be any greener? 🙂

The dessert is the hero of the day. The owner of the restaurant has recommended us to try the freshly baked Australian, Lamington cake (It has really been a while since the last time I tried this flavourful cake).

The texture of the Lamington cake slice was on-point. The portion was fair for two people, beautifully covered by chocolate and coated by an outer layer of coconut.  I always have the pleasure to cut the cake to see the filling. The ratio of sponge to strawberry was perfectly presented. Taste and texture were genuinely beautiful and well blended. I really think that this can the best selling desserts to be recommended by all staff!

The restaurant is only one-month old and I see a potential as the next healthy breakfast spot for us expats.

Anyways, so ratings for Crumble (when I rate a restaurant, I compare it to the restaurants in the similar category)
Food : 4/5
Design: 4/5
Service: 5/5 (very prompt service)

Much love from Dubai,

Yung

Leave a Reply

